RSS

Richard Earnest Montoya – My Dad

18 Mar

So far I’ve resisted writing about those very close to me – don’t know why – too personal – too raw maybe?  However, twice in the last few weeks I’ve had an opportunity to talk to people about my Dad. 

First – Uncle Louie called to ask about my Dad’s military service.  One of the retirement communities in Ogden is having a fundraiser, and Uncle Louie is having a “brick” made for my dad that will list his years of military service, etc. and then it will be placed in a certain area there at the center which will be dedicated to veterans.  It’s good to know that my dad will be honored in his home town.  Thanks Uncle Louie!! 

Richard E. Montoya - abt 18 yrs old

One of the neat things about having the blog is all the wonderful like-minded people who I’ve met online.  One of them being Charles Hale…..an awesome writer!  I highly recommend his blog to you – “Stories Connect – Love Heals.”  I’ve added his site to my “favorite blogs” in case you want to check back often.  Charles and I got to talking about one of his recent posts and an idea sprung out of that conversation.  He has written a thought-provoking piece on the Vietnam era – and has included my memories of having a father who served in Vietnam.  You can read the story here:  http://storiesconnectloveheals.com/2011/03/18/viet-nam-stole-my-father/.

Richard E. Montoya - either 1967 or 1971 - don't remember which tour

 

 

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2011 in Montoya, Times and Places

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Richard Earnest Montoya – My Dad

  1. IrishNewYorker

    March 18, 2011 at 6:46 am

    Very kind of you, Judy.
    Your expressions of love and admiration for your father are heart warming. Thank you for allowing me to share your moving story.
    Charles

     
  2. Mary Curbow

    March 18, 2011 at 9:39 am

    Charles Hale’s piece is short but powerful and insightful, giving us that were not involved like you, a tiny glimpse of the impact on your life and reminding us of your father’s courage. I am often in awe of the young men, the fathers & brothers, who go do the things we would be too scared to do. And I will always remember your father’s blue eyes and his sweet smile. It is good to know he will be honored in a place for all to see. I hope you will be able to visit it.

     

Leave a comment