RSS

Making Progress

19 Jul

As some of you may have noticed – I’ve been a little quiet on the blogging front lately. It has been about a month since I launched our family history website at curbowfamily.com – which is powered by The Next Generation of Sitebuilding developed by Darrin Lythgo. If I may say so – the man is a genius! While the learning curve has been extremely steep for me – I am doing things with the website that I never thought possible. TNG has a great support network. All I have to do is get online with a question and within minutes I have ten emails from other users with advice and help on how to accomplish it. I could never recommend it enough.

Now that I have imported all of my data with a gedcom from ancestry.com to TNG, I have been busy reattaching all 6,000+ photos and documents and doing general clean-up on the site. I may be very old and ancient by the time all of this is done! So far – I’ve only completed two generations of the Atwood family. You can click here to see what a fully completed page looks like.

One of my favorite TNG features (among many) is the ability to sort data. For instance, many of our Atwood family was born, married, lived and died in Callahan County, Texas. TNG allows you to sort by location – in other words – go to the “Places” tab – search the location you are interested in – and up pops a map along with all the people that were born there, married there, lived there, died there, are buried there, etc., etc. Click here to see an example of a “Places” page. This is helpful when tracking the migration of a family.

Alternatively, you could go to the “Cemetery” tab – search a certain location and up pops all of your family buried in that county sorted by cemetery. Click here to see an example of a “Cemetery” page.

There is still an inordinate amount of work to be done. To date the website contains my genealogy database and is fully searchable for your ease of use. The database presently contains information on 24,259 individuals, 6,832 separate families and 3,558 unique surnames. The data has been supplemented with over 7,000 notes and 754 pieces of media, including photos, documents, histories, military records, obituaries and much more. I attach new items on a daily basis – so go check it out often!  You can click on the “What’s New” Tab to see what’s been added.

Here’s how you can participate: If we have a family connection, I would welcome the opportunity to add your family to my ancestry database and document them with birth, marriage and death records along with their photographs or any other type of data that will help us fill in the gaps and break through brick walls.

I look forward to hearing from you!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 19, 2011 in Odds and Ends

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Making Progress

  1. Jennifer

    July 21, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    It’s beautiful!!

     
    • Judy Curbow

      July 22, 2011 at 5:34 am

      Hi Jennifer….thanks for checking it out. I love the software so far……can’t even believe “tech challenged” me….has launched a website! Judy

       

Leave a Reply

 
