RSS

A Memorial Day Tribute

30 May

Thank you for the sacrifice you made for us.  We remember you today – and every day. 

Richard Ernest Montoya - my father - first man on the left: United States Army

Max George Montoya - My uncle - United States Army

Richard John Quiroz - My sister's father-in-law; United States Air Force

Roy Oliver Curbow - my husband's grandfather - United States Army

Roy Orville Curbow - my husband's uncle - United States Navy

Gene Oliver Curbow - my husband's uncle - United States Navy

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 30, 2011 in Odds and Ends

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “A Memorial Day Tribute

  1. IrishNewYorker

    May 30, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Very nicely done, Judy. The picture of your dad is wonderful.

     
  2. Charles A (Chuck) Thompson

    July 8, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Judy —

    Good job!

    It looks to me like the uniform of Gene Oliver Curbow is not a Navy uniform. It looks like a pre-1956 US Army uniform but since I don’t know when the service was performed, it could be a US Air Force uniform since the USAF continued to wear the Army uniform for a few years after it became a separate service. The stripe on GOC’s uniform does not look like an Army stripe, but more like a USAF stripe.

    Keep up the good work!

    Charles A (Chuck) Thompson (great grandson of Sarah Lucinda Curbo Thompson)

     
    • Judy Curbow

      July 11, 2011 at 1:09 pm

      Chuck….you are 100% correct! I went back and checked my notes on Gene Oliver Curbow. He did NOT serve in the Navy – he served in the United State Air Force. THANK YOU for your attention to detail…..the rest of you – please pardon my oversight!

       

Leave a Reply

 
