RSS

James Atwood

07 Feb

Our “brick wall Atwood ancestor is James Atwood.  He was born sometime around 1769 – the location of his birth is unknown as are his parents. 

In the 1790 census, James is 21 years old; there are two household members; and one of these persons is indexed as a slave.  James is present in Rowan County, North Carolina.  The county was formed in 1753 from the northern part of Anson County.

Rowan County, South Carolina

 Sometime around 1791, James Atwood married “Mary/Polly.”  Her last name is unknown to me.  The marriage date is an ESTIMATE based on the birth year of the first child; The couple probably married in North Carolina.

In the 1800 census the couple can be found living in Laurens District of South Carolina.  Indexed as “James Atwood.”  Present in the home is 1 white male 16-25; 1 white female 10-15; and 1 slave.  Laurens County was formed in 1785 – one of nine modern counties of the Colonial Ninety-Six District. 

Laurens County, South Carolina

In the 1810 census the couple is still living in Laurens County, South Carolina.  Indexed as “James Atwood,” he is with 2 males under the age of 10; 1 male 26-44; 1 female under 10; 1 female 26-44; and 7 slaves.

James Atwood died at the age of 47 in Laurens County, South Carolina some time in January of 1816.  His Will was signed 17 Jan 1816; the Will was proven and recorded 30 Jan 1816. 

Excerpts of James Atwood’s Last Will & Testament – Courtesy of Brian Atwood:

 

County: Laurens                   State: South Carolina
Will Book:  Box 2, Pkg. 1     Page: 257
Court/repository: South Carolina Dept. of Archives & History, Columbia, S.C.

TESTATOR: JAMES ATWOOD
Place of Residence: Laurens District, South Carolina
Executor(s): Mary (Polly) Atwood, William Atwood, William Ball
Date Signed: 17 January 1816     Date Proved: 30 January 1816
Date Recorded: 30 January 1816
Witnesses: Jno. Clemens, W. Ballard, Tobias Cook

Bequests, Devises, etc. In the name of God, Amen.  I James Atwood of South Carolina Laurens District, being weak in body but sound mind and memory, blessed to be God for it, calling to mind the uncertainty of life, do make this my last will and testament in manner and form following, revoking wills and deeds formerly made by me or any other conveyance whatsoever.  In the first place I recommend my soul to God that gave it hoping He will receive it again at the last day through the merits of Jesus Christ my lord and saveour (sic).  I desire body to be buried in a decent manner as my Beloved wife and executors shall think proper.  Item I give unto my beloved wife Polly Atwood one third of my real and personal estate giving her choice of the house and plantation whereupon I now live.  Item 3 give unto my beloved wife Polly Atwood one Negro girl, Hannah, and her child Mariah as a fee simple forever.  Item I give unto my son William Atwood and William Ball, my son-in-law the balance of my estate, both real and personal to be equally divided between them.  Reserving as much out of my hole (sic) estate to give my son William Atwood a good English education.  Item It is will and desire that my executors hereafter mentioned do sell as much of my property as they think most proper, to pay off all my just debts.  Item I do ordain my beloved wife Polly Atwood Executrix and William Atwood and my son-in-law William Ball, executors.
to execute this my last will and testament In witness hereof I have set my seal this seventeenth day of January in the year one thousand eight hundred sixteen.

I would love to hear from other Atwood researchers the descend from James Atwood and his wife Mary/Polly. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 7, 2011 in Atwood, Brick Walls

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
