RSS

Montoya Family in the 1940 Census

03 Apr

I found my Dad and grandfather in the 1940 census!  I’ve been trying off and on since yesterday; but the National Archives site was being hammered – and the site kept freezing up my computer.  Tonight – success!  There aren’t really that many surprises in this census.  Joe and family are living in Bingham Canyon, Salt Lake County, Utah.  All but two of Joe and Pear’s children were born in Bingham Canyon.  Joe, in 1940, is an ore miner working for U.S. Mining Company.  The family is renting their home for $15.00 a month.  Joe states that for the previous year his yearly wages were $1,880.  Joe and Pearl had been married for eight years.  The children are Max, age 7 (who attended the 1st grade), Richard, age 5 (my dad), Juanita, age 3; and Eugene (Uncle Murph….that’s YOU !!!).  What surprised me the most is that living with Joe and Pearl is Pearl’s father, George Francis Spencer who in 1940 is 70 years old.

Onward to more 1940 discoveries !!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2012 in Montoya

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Montoya Family in the 1940 Census

  1. Mary Curbow

    April 3, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    What a great find!! And it came with a nice surprise!!!!!!

     
  2. Carma Owen

    April 4, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    I was wondering if my dad was in Bingham canyon by then also. I haven’t had a chance to search yet. I know he went there with several of his uncles.

     
    • Judy Curbow

      April 4, 2012 at 5:59 pm

      Carma – I didn’t see him – but I stopped once I found Joe and Pearl. If I get a chance – I will look for him. No name index yet…so it’s tedius. Judy

       
      • Carma Owen

        April 5, 2012 at 1:44 am

        I found my Dad — still living at home in NM. I was lucky and found them after only 1 hour of searching. :) What ED in Bingham Canyon were they in?

         
        • Judy Curbow

          April 5, 2012 at 6:03 am

          Interesting – so he went to Utah later. The census states that Joe was already living there in 1935. I found them: State of Utah; Salt Lake County, Precinct 10, ED-18-45; I also found Max and Juanita in Rio Arriba (Joe’s sons David and Pete are with them there.)

           

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

