RSS

Welcome !

01 Jan

Happy New Year!  Welcome to my genealogy blog which is dedicated to the Curbow-Montoya family and their collective ancestors! 

Why genealogy?  I once read that the average person does not know the names of their great-grandparents.  While reading this – I felt profoundly sad.  How could one live and die and be so easily and quickly forgotten?  I have to confess that until I myself embarked on my genealogy journey into the past – I didn’t know the names of my great-grandparents either.  Thankfully, now – not only do I know their names but I know much about their lives and how they lived them as well.

I simply love to walk where my ancestors walked – whether it’s standing in front of the farm house where my great-grandparents toiled in Wittenberg, Germany – or whether I am gazing over the ruins of the Montoya adobe in the beautiful and fertile Espanola Valley of northern New Mexico – or whether we’re quietly standing at Bonnie’s grave in Brownwood, Texas – I feel a sense of connection and peace.  If you will listen and learn from your ancestors they will teach you many lessons, including survival – perseverance – strength – family bonds – wisdom – and yes, forgiveness.

I want to be able to give my son – and his children – and all those that will come after them – a glimpse of this rich history.  My wish is that they will know and love who they are and where they came from.  I want to inspire their interest so that they in turn will pass this family story on to future generations.

For me this genealogy journey has personalized history and has made it real by providing a closer connection to the historical events I learned about in school.  The more information I uncover about our ancestors – the more real these people have become to me – and the more fascinating.  I love learning about the times our ancestors lived in – including their social, religious, and political backgrounds.  Although our ancestors have moved on – their personalities remain – in me – and in you.

Maybe most importantly genealogy has given me the opportunity to ponder my own life and has helped me to put things into perspective.  As I learn about the hardships and tragedies of my ancestors, it makes me realize how relatively easy I have it and how fortunate and blessed I really am.  It gives me a very deep sense of debt and gratitude to those that went before me.

God has told us in his Word ~ our time on this earth is nothing more than a vapor and today is fleeting ~ I hope that you will capture every moment.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 1, 2011 in Odds and Ends

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Welcome !

  1. maria z. montoya

    April 11, 2011 at 7:40 am

    i am also interested in the montoya genealogy i was born in el paso,texas i was raised in ysleta my grandfather was lorenzo montoya and my father was lorenzo montoya jr.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

